How to Create QuickBooks Desktop company file

Create QuickBooks Desktop comunity file A QuickBooks Desktop company file carries financial information of a Company. If you’re just beginning out with QuickBooks, the first thing you must do is create a company file. If you have an old company file, you can either upgrade the file or identify if it is the right time to start a new company.

 

Express Start

  1. Open QuickBooks Desktop.
  2. On the No Company Open window, click Create a new company.
  3. Click Express Start.
  4. Fill out the necessary information in QuickBooks Setup window.
  5. Quick tip: Click Help me choose to see a description for every business type and the purest chart of accounts that QuickBooks will create for you per industry.
  6. Click Create Company.
  7. After creating your company file, you can start creating your customers, chart of accounts and services or you can do it later by choosing Start Working.

Detailed Start

  1. Open QuickBooks Desktop.
  2. On the No Company Open window, click Create a new company.
  3. Click Detailed Start.
  4. Fill out the Easy Step Interview screen and click Next.
  5. Select your Industry and click Next.
  6. Identify your type of Business Entity and click Next
  7. Set your Fiscal year and click Next.
  8. Set up your QuickBooks Administrator password and click Next.
  9. Choose the scene where you you want to save your company file and click Save.
  10. After saying your company file, you can customize your QuickBooks by clicking Next or you can do it later by selecting Leave.

 

  • if you have addition  old company file saved on your computer, be sure to use a different name for the new company file. If you use the same name for the new company file, it will override the current company file and the data in the current file will be lost.
  • You can create a new QuickBooks Desktop company file by copying an existing company file to a another location. The copy retains all of the lists, transactions, templates, and preferences in the original company file. You must manually delete all transactions that you want removed.
  • you don’t want to manually delete the transactions, don’t copy the file. Instead,  The original company file and import them into the new company file. You can also export and import templates, although you can only do this one template at a time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *